Zoom Security: Updates

Categories: Information Security updates Zoom

When you are hosting a Zoom meeting, security is essential to the success of your meeting. Zoom has become one of the most popular online conferencing tools in use today. Along with the rise in popularity, comes an increase in security risks. One of the biggest problems currently is Zoom-Bombing which is when a group of people tries to take over or disrupt a current Zoom session. In an effort to combat these security risks, Zoom has updated and added additional security features. For additional information, see our Zoom security best practices guide.

Zoom Security menu

An image of the Zoom Security menu from the Zoom client.

Zoom has expanded the former security menu to include additional items. You have control over every aspect of what participants can do when they are in your Zoom session. If you need some to Share Screen or Unmute themselves without giving that feature to all participants, simply promote them to a cohost in the Participants menu. Also, if your meeting is breached or participants become unruly, use the Suspend Participant Activities option in the Security menu. This will remove all options from this list and promptly mute everyone and turn off their cameras. Once this has been selected, only the host or co-hosts can unmute themselves and turn on their video.

Removing Participants

Image of the Remove Participant menu from the Zoom client.

From the Zoom Security menu, you can remove participants. When you click the Remove Participant option from the security menu, you will see the window shown above. From this list of participants, you can click remove on individual participants. Note – be sure to lock the meeting before removing any participants or they may be able to rejoin.

Reporting Participants

Image of the Participant menu in Zoom showing the options for an individual user.

Zoom has also created a reporting option for unruly or unwanted guests. This service allows you to report a user including video or screenshots of their bad activity. When submitted, the information will be sent to a review and if deemed unacceptable the user will be blocked from using Zoom in the future. This should only be used in cases where the user is intentionally disrupting Zoom sessions.

Written by: , DASNR IT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *